How Aikido Changed My Life

In preparation for my nidan test in 2014, I was required to compose an essay in how aikido has positively effected my life. Below is how I felt aikido effected my life during that time.

Aikido has changed me in many different ways. For starters, aikido has given me an opportunity to take my frustration from the outside world and use it in a productive manner in the dojo. I am not saying that I walk into the dojo with intention of hurting someone, instead, I walk into the dojo with the desire of making myself a better aikidoka, as well as a better person. Instead of directing my frustration onto other, I use the frustration as a way to focus on my techniques, so that I may become better the next time I enter the dojo.

Aikido has also made me a calmer person. My temper does not get the best of me like it did in the past. I am quick to laugh things off and quick to laugh at myself when needed. Because what person can’t laugh at themselves. In addition of becoming calmer, aikido has taught me to avoid hostile confrontations. This is mainly due to in the effort of self-preservation and the fact that hostile and violent confrontations do not end well nor do they solve much at all.

To further that point, aikido has changed the way I take life on in the outside world. I have started to draw connections to what we do in class and what I do outside of the dojo. For example, I have taken some words of wisdom from Mike Sensei and applied them to everyday life. I have taken the basic movements and applied them to where I work, thus making my movement more efficient. Also, I have adapted the way the dojo approaches techniques and new challenges and put that to use in my own life.

Aikido has also taught me self-control. Self-control is important to an aikidoka because it shows how much power you have over your body. I do not throw as hard as I can because “as hard as I can” could hurt a fellow aikidoka and that wouldn’t be what was expected of a shodan or a nidan. Not only has aikido taught me physical self-control, it has taught me self-control over my whole being. I don’t say what I really want to people, I restrain myself from taking another cookie, and those everyday situations that call for a little response than a big response.

Aikido has also given me more confidence in myself. I can rely on myself much more than before. I can walk into a room full of strangers and show fully that I am not scared. Aikido has shown me that I need the dojo’s help to become a better aikidoka, but the willingness, the drive, the desire to become better starts with me.

As you can see, aikido has done much to change my life, from a place to take my frustrations and make them useful to a bigger boost in self-confidence. For this, I thank you Mike Sensei! OSU!

Leave a comment