Interview with Daito-ryu Practitioner Nicholas Mayer: Just Practice

Nicholas Mayer found Daito-ryu in 2018 through Andrew Thorburn. He trains under Antonino Certa of Italy in his Daitokai International Group. Today, Mayer took some time to discuss his time in Daito-ryu.

Martial Arts of Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow: Thank you for joining, Mayer Sensei!

Nicholas Mayer: It is good to be here.

MAYTT: How and when did you get involved with Daito-ryu? What continues to motivate you to train today?

NM: Back in 2018, I was talking in training with Andrew Thorburn, and he turned me onto Antonino Certa Sensei. Today I use Curtis’ book and practice best I can.

MAYTT: How would you describe the training you first experienced when you joined Daito-ryu? In what ways have you seen such training change or evolve since you started?

NM: I first trained with Certa Sensei when he came to stay at my house and give a seminar in Michigan. That would’ve been 2018 I believe.

MAYTT: When did you begin teaching Daito-ryu? What was that experience like for you and how, if at all, helped you better understand the art?

NM: I haven’t been teaching Datio-ryu as I have been studying from his book and with Andrew Thorburn when he’s available, which isn’t often. I have been traveling to Ohio several times a year, but that was before Covid.

MAYTT: Antonino Certa is the chief instructor of the Daitokai International Group. Could you tell us more about him and where he stands within the international Daito-ryu community?

NM: Antonino Cerda Sensei is one of the best martial artists. I have had the pleasure to meet his understanding of martial arts. The human body is remarkable, his sword work is outstanding.

MAYTT: In your opinion, why do you feel Daito-ryu may not be as popular as aikido or other martial arts in the United States?

NM: Daito-ryu may not be as popular as aikido, only because there are no instructors teaching large schools. Here in Michigan, there may only be four or five schools that actually teach aikido.

MAYTT: If you were speaking with a person who had no knowledge of Daito-ryu, how would you explain the art to them? In the same conversation, how would you differentiate Daito-ryu from aikido?

NM: Daito-ryu is an older, more straightforward type of aikido, with no rolling throws or flowery flowing movements. Daito-ryu teaches weapons, such as the katana, jutte, and hanbo.

MAYTT: Where do you see Daito-ryu going in the next ten to fifteen years in the United States? What does the art’s future look like?

NM: I have not thought about this one. I would like to see it continue to grow, even come to my state of Michigan. A dojo here would be nice. It’s hard to travel four hours one way for class; this is why I have not been back to Ohio.

MAYTT: Thank you again for joining us today, Sensei!

NM: It was a pleasure.


Leave a comment